Wicked Stepsisters and Wicked Revenge

Image

It’s official, being in the floor scrubbing segment of the Cinderella story? Yeah, it sucks hardcore.  I knew the time would come when my waitress friend would find out about my intentions toward the Hot Bartender. I just didn’t realize it would happen so quickly.

So I went out with her, let’s refer to her as Lila and another bartender we’re both good friends with last week. We’ll call the friend Mickey. Lila said we were going to a club for her friend’s B-day party and that they would be there late but as it turns out, they had already left by the time we got there. Annd it was full of really creepy people. Needless to say, Lila, Mickey, and I left and found another bar. By the time we got there, it was twenty minutes till last call and the night was pretty much done. However, Lila spent the entire time at the bar talking about Hot Bartender.

Image

Turns out she and Chip, her latest boyfriend had broken up the past week and she was already zinging back to the Hot Bartender. Mickey knows how I feel about him and gave me a couple of sympathetic looks. I tried to not really say anything at all, but the guilt! I felt like the most evil troll sitting there listening to how they were soul mates, meant to be together, etc. etc. The whole time, I, her supposed friend, am in serious lust with the object of her attentions. And she has no idea we’re going to a wedding together.

To be fair to myself, she and Hot Bartender ended their hookups back in December and haven’t gotten together since. She just hasn’t moved on. But the thing of it is, regardless of what she wants, he IS a free agent and has let her know he wasn’t interested in her for a relationship or anything else. So the guilt isn’t really for going after him, rather for hiding it and listening to her hopes without letting her know I am hiding an attraction to him myself.

He is my end goal.

An uncomfortable night is an understatement. Yesterday I had to work a double on Easter. Yuck. But I did have a pretty good night. Hot Bartender accidentally splashed himself with water and playfully tried to get me wet too which was cute beyond all belief. Then I caught sight of Lila glaring at us.

We all brought in jelly beans and he ate too many and got a sugar rush. I told him he really was six years old and he smiled like a six year old, saying that he preferred it that way. He really is so irresistibly cute—although, you must trust me, in truth, he is so totally in his prime, a little young, a little reckless, beautiful, charming, funny, sexy, and most importantly, fun loving. He is young and fun and what I want right now. I feel like I was born too serious and too responsible and now I’m looking for a good time–and I always have one with him!

We compared tips at the end of the night and looking past his ice blue eyes, I found a glaring pair of dark blue ones flashing.

She may not know about the wedding (countdown–40 days!!!), but Lila definitely knows I like him now. And she’d turned into the hardcore wicked stepsister. It’s actually scary how eerily similar this analogy is turning out to be . . .  

She was in charge of dismissing the servers and gave me the worst sidework possible—the alley. That means literally sweeping, scrubbing, and cleansing our entire alley, pipes, and sanitizing station. When I was done, she told me I could break down the entire back prep area and had to clean that too before I left. So I flipped my tables and went to breakdown the prep area, when she somehow miraculously found two straws underneath the alley ice machine. I had to crawl under the alley counter in the disgusting grime to pull them out and cut my hands. I was heading to do the prep area when she pounced on me demanding why the prep area wasn’t finished.

“Are you serious?” I asked, tired and sweaty after having worked a double from open and it was time for closing.

She gave me a haughty eyebrow raise. Of course she was serious. It needed to be done, she replied scathingly.

I was stunned. She had seen me doing all of the other work. She knew I hadn’t had time to get back there because she had kept finding other things for me to do! And magically, she wanted that done as well. I was going to do it, but I had been crossing everything ELSE off of her list of things for me to do first. She waved me away as if I was beyond consideration and said if I couldn’t get it done, she would do it right.

Needless to say, I did the prep area break down and clean.

The evil servant treatment has started and isn’t likely to stop any time soon.

It hasn’t put me off Hot Bartender though. I just hold onto the good things. And I want to end with one now.

Hot Bartender doesn’t work Fridays, but I went ahead and did my hair and makeup anyway  for once. I made a fifty dollar tip!!! and was ringing it in when someone tapped my shoulder. Turning around, it was him! My face lit up—I could feel it happening and just couldn’t stop it because he was there, an unexpected wonderful surprise.

“What are you doing here?” He was wearing casual clothing so he wasn’t here to work.

“It’s my sister’s birthday and my family’s here. So I have a big favor to ask you.”

“Of course, what is it?” Far too eager—I know—but I was off my game.

“I want to get her good for her birthday and I want you to do the birthday shout out.”

Out of everyone, he wanted me to do it.

I agreed and waited for his “secret signal.” His sister realized and ran back to the table before we could do the shout out, but I went over to wish her happy birthday personally.

Image

“Just know we were all mentally saying Happy Birthday,” I explained with a smile, “But really, I know what he had planned, so it’s probably for the best that you ran,” I laughed. She did too.

“Oh, I know it would have been horrible,” she replied with a smile. “I’ll just have to think of some way to get him back!”

“Well, if you need any help, I’m full of great ideas,” I reassured her. “Just let me know.”

Hot Bartender shuddered and looked at me with playful fear. “Don’t, that’s scary.”

He always says he’s afraid of my perfect and devious revenges. They are devious.

It was fun meeting his family and I think they were all pretty cool people.

The takeaway from this story is THANK HEAVENS I did not look grungy. I am very thankful 🙂

And out of all the people, he picked me.

I always thought people were just insipid when they said that they could stare into another person’s eyes and get lost in them, but sometimes when we’re talking I am so caught up that I realize belatedly that I’ve been lost in eye contact, watching his features light up while he’s telling me a story. Thing is, I don’t feel embarrassed because he’s smiling and making eye contact right back.

As for the Lila situation, it looks like I’ll just have to get ready for a lot more sweeping and mopping in my future, because while I still have a shot, I’m not giving up.

 

XOXO

Leave a Reply

